What do You Mean by the expression ‘Storm in a Teacup’?

Gauri Shanker
1 min readNov 13, 2022

--

Storm in a teacup means a big fuss about something trivial; any small matter blown out of proportion.

This expression was first used in 52 BCE in the writings of Cicero. He used it to point out a trivial matter that caused disproportionate disturbance and uproar.

A synonym of this expression is “much ado about nothing”.

Let’s see an example —

“I can’t believe the boss raised a storm in a teacup over this. I was late by only five minutes.”

The boss made a big issue of such a trivial matter.

I hope you found this story interesting. If you did, buy my full course on Udemy or watch it for free on Skillshare by signing up here. This course covers nearly 380 idioms with their origins and backstories.

Hi, I am Gauri Shanker, a Vocab teacher and enthusiast. I teach vocabulary in a fun and engaging way. You can check out my courses here.

--

--

Gauri Shanker

Vocabulary Enthusiast and Teacher. Buy my courses on Udemy (http://bit.ly/300-idioms) or watch them for free on Skillshare (https://skl.sh/3z2bauD).