What does the Phrase ‘Rain or Shine’ Mean?

Gauri Shanker
1 min readMar 15, 2023

--

‘Rain or shine’ means regardless of the circumstances; regardless of the weather.

This phrase is in use since 1905 and refers to the weather.

It is used to emphasize that something or some event will happen no matter if it rains or if it is a sunny day. It will happen regardless of the weather.

Another phrase conveying a similar meaning is “Come hell or high water” which I have discussed in another article.

Let’s see an example —

“I am going to the wedding, come rain or shine!”

It doesn’t matter what the circumstances are, I am going to the wedding.

I hope you found this story interesting. If you did, buy my full course on Udemy or watch it for free on Skillshare by signing up here. This course covers nearly 380 idioms with their origins and backstories.

Hi, I am Gauri Shanker, a Vocab teacher and enthusiast. I teach vocabulary in a fun and engaging way. You can check out my courses here.

--

--

Gauri Shanker

Vocabulary Enthusiast and Teacher. Buy my courses on Udemy (http://bit.ly/300-idioms) or watch them for free on Skillshare (https://skl.sh/3z2bauD).