What is the Meaning of the Phrase ‘A Snake in the Grass’?

Gauri Shanker
1 min readFeb 3, 2023

--

If you call a person ‘a snake in the grass’, it means he is a treacherous or deceitful person. He pretends to be a friend but is likely to deceive.

This metaphor for treachery was first used by Roman poet Virgil in 37 BC. It is an allusion to a poisonous snake hiding in tall grass which could bite at any moment.

Let’s see an example —

“I thought he was my friend, but he turned out to be a snake in the grass. It was he who ratted me out to the teacher.”

It means he was a fake friend. He betrayed me to the teacher.

I hope you found this story interesting. If you did, buy my full course on Udemy or watch it for free on Skillshare by signing up here. This course covers nearly 380 idioms with their origins and backstories.

Hi, I am Gauri Shanker, a Vocab teacher and enthusiast. I teach vocabulary in a fun and engaging way. You can check out my courses here.

--

--

Gauri Shanker

Vocabulary Enthusiast and Teacher. Buy my courses on Udemy (http://bit.ly/300-idioms) or watch them for free on Skillshare (https://skl.sh/3z2bauD).